

Associated Countries

Version 1.2 19 May 2014

Disclaimer

This document is aimed at informing potential applicants for Horizon 2020 funding. It serves only as an example. The actual Web forms and templates, provided in the online proposal submission system under the Participant Portal, might differ from this example. Proposals must be prepared and submitted .via the online proposal submission system under the Participant Portal.

Research and Innovation

History of changes

<u>Version 1.1</u> <u>26 February 2014</u>

• Updates on the participation conditions for Faroe Islands and Switzerland

<u>Version 1.2</u> 19 May 2014

• Update on the countries associated with H2020 : Norway and Iceland

Associated Countries

Association is governed by Article 7 of the Horizon 2020 Regulation. Legal entities from Associated Countries can participate under the same conditions as legal entities from the Member States. Countries can only associate to Horizon 2020 by conclusion of a specific international agreement, which needs to be negotiated with each country that wishes to associate to Horizon 2020.

The following countries are already associated to Horizon 2020:

- Iceland
- Norway

Most of the other agreements are expected to be finalised soon. Association agreements, once concluded, will generally be applied retrospectively from 1 January 2014 (i.e. from the beginning of Horizon 2020).

The following associations are expected to be in place before the end of June or at the latest in early July¹:

- Albania
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
- Israel
- Moldova
- Montenegro
- Serbia
- Turkey

Legal entities from these countries are encouraged to participate in proposals submitted under the first Horizon 2020 calls for proposals. As long as the respective Association agreements are not in place, and in order not to delay proposal evaluation and negotiation, these countries will be assumed to be associated and legal entities from these countries will count towards the minimum participation requirements in all parts of Horizon 2020, as though they are established in an Associated Country.

Association of the **Faroe Islands** is not expected to be complete until late in 2014. Hence, it is likely that entities from the Faroe Islands will only be able to participate as 'third country' participants for most of the calls in 2014.

Association of **Switzerland** is currently on-hold, please see the separate information note [http://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/data/ref/h2020/other/hi/h2020-hi-swiss-part en.pdf]

Note that, unlike in the case of FP7, Liechtenstein does not intend to associate to Horizon 2020.

Should Association agreements still not be in place by the time of the need to sign grant agreements or other forms of financial support under Horizon 2020, then the eligibility of the proposal (and, where relevant, the funding from the Union budget to be provided to the legal entities in question) will be reassessed on the basis that the country is not associated to Horizon 2020. This implies that entities from such countries would not get funded automatically, but could get funding on an exceptional basis.

¹ This note will be updated as the associations are finalised.